Emotional Coping

What Helps http://www.ctaz.com/~bhima/prayer.htm

“Songs from A Porcelain Trailer” by Kim Palmer   Sadly Kim passed away October 23, 2006 from MCS complications. These are her songs about having MCS.   A song from the album,  “Allergic To The 20th Century” YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R317JXt7SA8  Lyrics:  https://ssl.catalog.com/~ehcd1/websteen/allergic_to_20th_century.htm  A Facebook page for Kim: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kim-Palmer/177085795872?v=wall&ref=ts

Christians With Invisible Illness http://health.groups.yahoo.com/group/CMCS-EI/?yguid=198799829

Invisible Disabilities Association http://www.invisibledisabilities.org/encourage/

Emotional Health http://planetthrive.com/2010/03/emotional-health/

Mindful Path to Self-Compassion free download meditations http://www.mindfulselfcompassion.org/meditations_downloads.php (Christopher Germer, PhD)

The Buddy Program http://thebuddyprogram.tripod.com/id5.html (Volunteers who help those with MCS, FM and CFS)

How to Be Politically Active when You are Disabled Poor & Pissed Off http://planetthrive.com/2008/05/how-to-be-politically-active-when-youre-disabled-poor-and-pissed-off/

Energetic Healing http://planetthrive.com/2010/03/energetic-health/

Spirituality http://planetthrive.com/2010/03/spirituality/

DBT Distress Tolerance Handouts http://www.dbtselfhelp.com/html/distress_tolerance_handouts.html

Free Online Learning and Documentaries compiled by Linda Sepp https://lindasepp.wordpress.com/free-online-learning-and-documentaries/ These books and films can help with the “what can I do?” depression of being poor and isolated.

Books

The Chronic Illness Workbook by Patricia A Fennell

Multiple Chemical Sensitivity: A Survival Guide 2nd Ed. by Pamela Reed Gibson PhD

Living Well With Multiple Chemical Sensitivity by Lisa Bradford

Understanding Multiple Chemical Sensitivity: Causes, Effects, Personal Experiences and Resources by Els Valkenburg

Living with Multiple Chemical Sensitivity: Narratives of Coping by Gail McCormick

Poisoned by Pollution: An Unexpected Spiritual Journey by Anne Lipscomb

Born to Live Green by Candia Lea Cole (New Age based)

Dancing with Monsters: Chronic Illness as Creative Transformation by Kate Wolfe-Jenson (Christian and art based, with creative exercises)

How to Be Sick: A Buddhist-Inspired Guide for the Chronically Ill and Their Caregivers by Toni Bernhard

Finding Life Beyond Trauma: Using Acceptance and Commitment Therapy to Heal from Post-Traumatic Stress and Trauma-Related Problems (New Harbinger Self-Help Workbook) by Victoria M. Follette & Jacqueline Pistorello (ACT/Mindfulness)

Sick and Tired of Feeling Sick and Tired: Living with Invisible Chronic Illness, Second Edition by Paul J. Donoghue & Mary Elizabeth Siegel

A Magical Little Bit of Art for Therapy for Fun and Healing: Recover Your Creative Nature Making an Imaginative Living Journal by Annette Aiea Day

The Ragged Edge: The Disability Experience

No Pity: People with Disability Forging a New Civil Rights Movement by Joseph P Shapiro

Dancing with Monsters: Chronic Illness as Creative Trasnformation by Kate Wolf-Jensen (Christian based)

Tending the Soul’s Garden: Permaculture as a Way Forward in Difficult Times By Denise Rushing

Help with Daily Life

The EI Wellspring Practical Tips for Coping with Chemical and Electrical Hypersensitivity http://www.eiwellspring.org/

Brainstorming About Our Survival: A Thrivalist Strategy for the Sick and Disabled http://planetthrive.com/2012/02/brainstorming-about-our-survival/

Free Online Fun

Games

Free Online Games (checkers, word jumble, battleship) http://www.zdaily.com/games.htm

MSNgames (casino games, solitare, Mahjonng, bridge) http://zone.msn.com/en-us/home

Web Sudoku  http://www.websudoku.com/

Free Jigsaw Puzzles http://www.thejigsawpuzzles.com/

Museum Virtual Tours

National Gallery of Art Virtual Tours http://www.nga.gov/content/ngaweb/Collection.html

Tour an Ancient Roman Villa  http://www.villa-rustica.de/tour/toure.html

The Museum of Unnatural History  http://unmuseum.mus.pa.us/unmain.htm

American Museum of Natural History http://www.amnh.org/

The British Museum online collection http://www.britishmuseum.org/research/collection_online/search.aspx

The Louvre online tour http://www.louvre.fr/en/visites-en-ligne

Smithsonian Institution http://collections.si.edu/search/

National Women’s History Museum Virtual Tours https://www.nwhm.org/online-exhibits/

The Frick Museum Virtual Tour tour http://www.frick.org/visit/virtual_tour

Boston Museum of Science Virtual Tours  http://www.mos.org/museum-online

The Oriental Institute Museum Virtual Tour https://oi.uchicago.edu/virtualtour

Mojave Desert virtual tour  http://digital-desert.com/a/

World Wonders https://www.google.com/culturalinstitute/u/0/project/world-wonders?view=grid

Museum of Modern Art http://www.moma.org/collection

Memorial Hall Online Collections http://memorialhall.mass.edu/collection/browse/index.jsp

Google Cultural Institute http://www.google.com/culturalinstitute/about/

Free e-books

Free ebooks – Project Gutenberg http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page

Free Poetry to read http://www.poets.org/page.php/prmID/58 and http://www.best-poems.net/

Kindle – If you don’t have a Kindle device, you can download Kindle for PC (free)

Best “selling” free books Nonfiction (fiction available too) http://www.amazon.com/Best-Sellers-Kindle-Store-Nonfiction/zgbs/digital-text/157325011/ref=zg_bs_nav_kstore_2_154606011?_encoding=UTF8&tf=1  Free Popular Classics http://www.amazon.com/s/?node=2245146011

Free Internet Archive Text Archive  http://archive.org/details/texts

Free Open Library http://openlibrary.org/

Physics Database List of Free Science Books http://physicsdatabase.com/book-list-by-title

Free Films

Wall of Films | Films For Action http://www.filmsforaction.org/walloffilms/

National Geographic Videos      https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=national+geographic+documentary

Videos and Animations on Grinning Planet http://www.grinningplanet.com/6001/overview-videos-and-animations.htm

NFB National Film Board http://www.nfb.ca/explore-all-films/

Poets in Performance Videos  http://billmoyers.com/content/pure-poetry/

PBS documentaries http://video.pbs.org/

Free Online Classes

700 Free Online Courses from Top Universities http://www.openculture.com/freeonlinecourses

Class Central (almost 4,000 classes) https://www.class-central.com/

Coursera  https://www.coursera.org/

LearnOutLoud.com Free Courses Collection http://www.learnoutloud.com/Free-Courses

Universal Class, Inc., online continuing ed
http://www.universalclass.com/myinterests/aboutus.htm

GCFLearnFree.org® (Goodwill Community Foundation)
computer skills, English, math, career, life skills
http://www.gcflearnfree.org/everydaylife

Learn How To Sing Better: free voice lessons http://www.ehow.com/videos-on_3196_learn-sing-better_-voice-lessons.html

Free Guitar Lessons http://www.guitarlessons.com/guitar-lessons/

Sensory Defensiveness

Too Loud, Too Bright, Too Fast, Too Tight: What to Do If You Are Sensory Defensive in an Overstimulating World by Sharon Heller

Advertisements