Clothing

Always read description carefully, not all clothes are Canary safe. Look for the GOTS label!

Read: How to get rid of chemicals in fabrics. (Hint: trick question.)
http://oecotextiles.wordpress.com/2010/11/10/how-to-get-rid-of-chemicals-in-fabrics-hint-trick-question/

Fairies Dance http://www.faeriesdance.com/index.php (Genuinely caring owner, has good selection of bras and although the plus size clothing company is gone, she’s seeking another.)

Rawganique http://www.rawganique.com/index.htm (Includes plus sizes for men and a new plus size line for women. If you react to hemp, you may have trouble with their clothing, even the organic cotton, as they are stored together. I have had luck with just washing normally to remove the hemp odor, but remember if you wash it you cannot return it. There are complaints with their customer service.)

ONNO Textiles (also Plus Sizes) https://www.onnotextiles.com/m/BAM1o

Dharma Trading Company Organic Cotton http://www.dharmatrading.com/html/eng/6018137-AA.shtml

Cottonique http://www.cottonique.com/

Maggie’s Organics http://www.maggiesorganics.com/index.php (especially for 99% organic cotton socks and the clothing is reasonably priced)

Kasper Organics  https://www.kasperorganics.com

Blue Canoe http://www.bluecanoe.com/

Janice’s http://janices.com/

Duluth Trading Post http://women.duluthtrading.com/ (free range underwear)

The Organic Pages http://www.theorganicpages.com/topo/index.html

Fabric & Fibers

Read description carefully, not all are Canary safe. Look for GOTS label! (Read: How to get rid of chemicals in fabrics. (Hint: trick question.)
http://oecotextiles.wordpress.com/2010/11/10/how-to-get-rid-of-chemicals-in-fabrics-hint-trick-question/

Also buy Local! Then you can ask the “who what when where and hows” and support your own community.

Local Harvest Guide to Organic Wools and Fibers Farms http://www.localharvest.org/store/wool.jsp

Ecobutterfly Organic Cotton Yarn http://www.ecobutterfly.com/organiccottonyarninformation/

Ecobutterfly Organic Cotton Fabrics http://www.ecobutterfly.com/pakuchoorganiccottonfabric/ (They sell one of the only fabrics – the fleece – that does not make me react. No greenwashing, they are the real deal! Love them.)

Rawganique EU Hemp http://www.rawganique.com/index.htm (Great fabric but it is hemp and we react to hemp.)

Heart of Vermont Organic Cotton http://www.heartofvermont.com (They sell one of the only fabrics – the percale – that does not make me react. No greenwashing, they are the real deal! Great company! Futons, pillows etc are great.)

Peace Fleece http://www.peacefleece.com/index.php

Philosopher’s Wool http://www.philosopherswool.com/Index.htm

Shoes (Sadly we haven’t found any comfortable shoes, especially for arch and back support. Others suggest these.)

Cloggie Shop http://www.cloggieshop.com/index.php?dispatch=products.view&product_id=29781

Multnomah Leather http://www.multnomahleather.com/

Celtic and Co Loafer Moccasin http://www.celticandco.com/footwear/womens-footwear/slippers-1878/sheepskin-moccasin-loafer/

Rawganique http://www.rawganique.com (had hemp slippers)

Masks and Respirators

Please read Study Says Carbon Filters Ineffective for Multiple Chemical Sensitivities  http://thetruthaboutmcs.blogspot.com/search?q=study+says+carbon+filters   Still, every Canary I know wears a carbon filter mask and finds they do help, while respirators are made from toxic materials. I love my mask. The article lists sites for respirators:

National Allergy
http://www.natlallergy.com/product.asp?pn=1176&bhcd2=1177096712

MSA North America
http://www.msanorthamerica.com/catalog/catalog500012.html

Western Safety Products
http://www.westernsafety.com/resppro.htm

WS Safety Solutions  http://www.buyingdirect.net/Full_Half_Face_Safety_Respirators_Masks_s/42.htm

Activated Carbon Filter Masks

I CAN BREATHE honeycomb carbon http://www.icanbreathe.com/  This is what most people I know use. Some buy the silk asthma mask and the activated carbon filters.

Handmade, silk, organic cotton, 4 different types of carbon by Sandra DenBraber, R. N. http://www.chemicalinjury.net/EC/Use%20of%20Den%20Braber%20Mask.htm (more info on DenBraber masks) I use the silk tie masks. I’m too skin sensitive for the other brands. Cotton ones are pretty thick cotton, the silk is easier for being heard. As they are hot, I always have another to switch to if I’m sweating.

Dixie’s Masks http://www.needs.com/prod_detail_list/eea_Masks/a

Advertisements