Clothing

Always read description carefully, not all clothes are Canary safe. Look for the GOTS label!

Read: How to get rid of chemicals in fabrics. (Hint: trick question.)
http://oecotextiles.wordpress.com/2010/11/10/how-to-get-rid-of-chemicals-in-fabrics-hint-trick-question/

Rawganique http://www.rawganique.com/index.htm (Probably your best bet, although staff can be rude. Includes plus sizes for men and a new plus size line for women.)

Fairies Dance http://www.faeriesdance.com/index.php (Genuinely caring owner, has good selection of bras and although the plus size clothing company is gone, she’s seeking another.)

Dharma Trading Company Organic Cotton http://www.dharmatrading.com/html/eng/6018137-AA.shtml

Cottonique http://www.cottonique.com/

Maggie’s Organics http://www.maggiesorganics.com/index.php (especially for 99% organic cotton socks and the clothing is reasonably priced, but usually has 5% spandex)

Kasper Organics  https://www.kasperorganics.com

Blue Canoe http://www.bluecanoe.com/

Fabric & Fibers

Read description carefully, not all are Canary safe. Look for GOTS label! (Read: How to get rid of chemicals in fabrics. (Hint: trick question.)
http://oecotextiles.wordpress.com/2010/11/10/how-to-get-rid-of-chemicals-in-fabrics-hint-trick-question/

Also buy Local! Then you can ask the “who what when where and hows” and support your own community.

Rawganique EU Hemp, Linen and Cotton http://www.rawganique.com/index.htm

Ecobutterfly Organic Fabrics and Yarns http://www.ecobutterfly.com/

Peace Fleece http://www.peacefleece.com/index.php

Philosopher’s Wool http://www.philosopherswool.com/Index.htm

Shoes (Sadly we haven’t found any comfortable shoes, especially for arch and back support. Others suggest these.)

Cloggie Shop http://www.cloggieshop.com/index.php?dispatch=products.view&product_id=29781

Multnomah Leather http://www.multnomahleather.com/

Celtic and Co Loafer Moccasin http://www.celticandco.com/footwear/womens-footwear/slippers-1878/sheepskin-moccasin-loafer/

Rawganique http://www.rawganique.com (vegan hemp shoes)

Masks and Respirators

Please read Study Says Carbon Filters Ineffective for Multiple Chemical Sensitivity http://thetruthaboutmcs.blogspot.com/2007/07/study-says-carbon-filters-ineffective.html

Still, every Canary I know wears a carbon filter mask and finds they do help, while respirators are made from toxic materials. I love my mask. The article lists sites for respirators:

National Allergy
http://www.natlallergy.com/product.asp?pn=1176&bhcd2=1177096712

Western Safety Products

http://www.westernsafety.com/resppro.htm

 

Activated Carbon Filter Masks

I CAN BREATHE honeycomb carbon http://www.icanbreathe.com  This is what most people I know use. Some buy the silk asthma mask and the activated carbon filters.

Handmade, silk or organic cotton, children’s size available, 3 different types of activated carbon filters, ties or covered elastic by Sandra DenBraber, R. N. I use the silk tie masks. I’m too skin sensitive for the other brands. Cotton ones are pretty thick cotton, the silk is easier for being heard. As they are hot, I always have another to switch to if I’m sweating. Note: Her email address has changed! sdenbraber@tx.rr.com 817-469-9626, 114 Ray St., Arlington, TX 76010